Order publications

Drawing

Museum:
WAGGERLHAUS
Place:
Wagrain

Using a quick feather, the artist sketches the grave of Vicar Joseph Mohr. In doing so on location, that being in the graveyard itself, he only uses the tip of the feather and black Indian ink. The shades of grey have been, just as with the colour, glazed on with a paint brush later on. As the Indian ink in the Thuja (in German: Lebensbäume) has blended without contours, it is certain that not a lot of time has passed between the two working phases.

The intensive red of the mesh of the wreath leads to the assumption that the picture was drawn shortly after 4th December - on this day in Wagrain, there is traditionally some commemorative singing where a wreath is laid. In doing so, the school conserves in memory the social engagement of Vicar Mohr in Wagrain who, in 1803, campaigned for the construction of a new school. For this reason, the current elementary school carries the name "Joseph Mohr Schule".

The drawing is signed in the bottom right-hand corner with E.H, meaning that it originates from the hands of Ernst Huber. This is very plausible because his drawn and painted postcards, that are of a similar style, are frequently signed with E.H. - such as those to Karl Heinrich Waggerl that are in collection of the Waggerl Museum today. The Vienna Secession artist Ernst Huber, who was also a member of the Zinkenbacher Malerkolonie ("The Art Colony of Zinkenbach"), even owned a house on Kirchboden in Wagrain for a number of years.

Photos: Hemma Ebner
Text: Carola Marie Schmidt

Back to overview

Loading

Publikationen bestellen

Zeichnung

Museum:
WAGGERLHAUS
Ort:
Wagrain

Mit schneller Feder skizziert der Zeichner das Grab von Vikar Joseph Mohr. Dabei verwendete er vor Ort, also am Friedhof selbst, wohl nur eine Federspitze und schwarze Tusche. Die Grautöne sind ebenso wie die Farbe später mit dem Pinsel lasierend aufgetragen worden. Weil die Tusche in den Thujen (Lebensbäume) noch ohne Randbildung verlaufen ist, ist zwischen den zwei Arbeitsschritten sicher nicht viel Zeit vergangen.

Das intensive Rot der Masche des Kranzes lässt vermuten, dass das Bild kurz nach einem 4. Dezember gezeichnet wurde - an diesem Tag findet traditionell in Wagrain ein Gedenksingen der Volksschüler mit Kranzniederlegung statt. Die Schule bewahrt so das Bewusstsein um das soziale Wirken des Vikars Mohrs in Wagrain, der sich im Jahr 1803 für den Neubau einer Schule einsetzte. Aus diesem Grund trägt die jetzige Volkschule den Namen "Joseph Mohr Schule".

Die Zeichnung ist rechts unten mit E.H signiert und stammt somit wohl aus der Hand von Ernst Huber. Dies ist sehr plausibel, weil auch seine gezeichnet und gemalten Postkarten die im Stil ähnlich sind häufig mit E. H. signiert waren - so auch jene an Karl Heinrich Waggerl, die heute in der Sammlung des Waggerl Museums sind. Der Wiener Sezession Künstler Ernst Huber, der auch Mitglied der Zinkenbacher Malerkolonie war, besaß sogar für einige Jahre ein Haus am Kirchboden in Wagrain.

Fotos: Hemma Ebner
Text: Carola Marie Schmidt

Zurück zur Übersicht